Course Settings

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

Course Settings:

  1. To access Course Settings, in the Administration box in the left column, click the Edit settings link.



  2. General Settings: Instructions for these settings are below the image.



    1. Course full name: You don't have the option to change this setting if this course is in the Miscellaneous category. This information is generated from our Student Information System. If you change this Course full name, a new course will be generated over night with the previous settings. If you requested that this course be manually created, if you'd like a different Course full name, enter it here.

    2. Course short name: You don't have the option to change this setting if this course is in the Miscellaneous category. This information is generated from our Student Information System. If you change this Course short name, a new course will be generated over night with the previous settings. If you requested that this course be manually created, if you'd like a different Course short name, enter it here.

    3. Course category: You don't have the option to change the category. If this course was manually requested and created and it is not in the category with your school name, email nethelp@4j.lane.edu and let us know what the school name category in which is should be moved.

    4. Visible: If you would like your students to see this course, select Show. If you aren't ready for your students to view this yet, select Hide, but don't forget to change this to Show when the course is ready for the students to have access.

    5. Course start date: If you have a date when this course will start, you can enter it here, or you can leave this blank.

    6. Course ID number: You don't have the option to change this setting.


  3. Description: Instructions are below the image.



    1. Course summary: You can enter the summary of the course here, but it's recommended to put the course summary in the first section of the course.

    2. Course summary files: If you have files you would like to include in the Course summary, drag and drop them here. But again, it's recommended to put the course summary in the first section of the course.


  4. Course format: Instructions are below the image.


    1. Format: If you would like each section to be a Topic, select Topic format. If you would each section to be Weekly, select Weekly format. If you are interested in a SCORM or Social format, click the question mark icon to the right of Format to find out what these mean.

    2. Number of sections: Select the number of sections (topics or weeks) that you will be offering in your course. If you end up with more or less than the number you select, return to this page to change this setting to the correct number.

    3. Hidden sections: If a section is hidden, meaning that a student can't see the section, you can select Hidden sections are shown in collapsed form where they will see a grayed out title but not be able to do anything in that section. Or you can choose Hidden sections are completely invisible so students can't see them at all. Once you make the section visible they will be able to see the items that are visible within the section.

    4. Course layout: If you would like all of your sections to appear on one page, select Show all sections on one page. If you would like just one section per page, select Show one section per page.


  5. Appearance: Instructions are below the image.


    1. Force theme: If you select Do not force, students will be able to select their own theme for this course. If you select a theme, they will only be able to view this course through the theme you selected.

    2. Force language: If this is an advanced foreign language class in which all of the students are completely coherent in this language, you can force the language, but if all of the students are not completely coherent, don't force the language.

    3. News items to show: This setting determines how many recent items appear in the latest news block on the course page. For example, news about when homework is due, reminders about quizzes, tests and exams, what to bring to class, if there is going to be a field trip, etc. Select the number of news items you would like to appear on the News list.

    4. Show gradebook to students: Students should be able to see their grades, so select Yes. If you select Yes, each student will only be able to see their own grades, not other students' grades.

    5. Show activity reports: Activity reports are available for each participant that shows their activity in the course, as well as listings of their contributions, such as forum posts or assignment submissions. These reports also include access logs. This setting determines whether a student can view their own activity reports via their profile page. By "activity in the course", this refers to how frequently and how long they go to this course, what they did when they were in the course, etc. This report involves more than just what the participant has completed. It also includes when they logged in, how long they were logged in, etc. There is a setting toward the bottom of this page called Completion Tracking that tracks what students have completed. If you would prefer that students not see a report of all of their activities in iPortal, don't activate this, and you can activate Completion Tracking below so they know what they have completed for this course.


  6. Files and uploads: This is the maximum size of a file that a student and teacher can upload. Choose the maximum file size needed throughout this term/semester/year that students and teachers will need to upload.


  7. Completion tracking: Students should be able to see their progress in this course (activities they have completed and those they haven't). We highly recommend that you select Yes so students are aware of what they have and have not completed.


  8. Guest access: Instructions are below the image.

    1. Allow guest access: This setting determines whether a user can access the course as a guest, without being required to enroll. If you would like guests to have access, select Yes. If not, select No.

    2. Password: If you selected Yes to allow guest access and would like to limit guest access to only those who know this password, enter the password in this field. To verify that you typed the password correctly, you can check the Unmask box. If you would like this course to be open to any guest, don't enter a password.


  9. Groups Settings: Groups are groups of students who will work together during this course on projects, activities, labs, etc.



    1. Group mode: There are three group mode options. No groups - There are no sub groups or group projects in this course. Separate groups - Each group member can only see their own group, others are invisible. Visible groups - Each group member works in their own group, but can also see other groups. Important Information: The group mode defined at course level is the default mode for all activities within the course. Each activity that supports groups can also define its own group mode if you don't set the group mode here. If the group mode is forced at course level, the group mode setting for each activity is ignored. It's recommended to select the Group mode at the activity area so there is flexibility to change the Group mode in different activities. If you opt to set the Group mode at each activity area, select No groups.

    2. Force group mode: If group mode is forced, then the course group mode is applied to every activity in the course. Group mode settings in each activity are then ignored.

    3. Default grouping: If you enabled Separate groups or Visible groups for Group mode, select the default grouping for this course by clicking the drop down menu to the right of None. If only None appears on the menu for Default grouping, go to the bottom of the Course Settings page and click the Save changes button and click here for instructions on how to create groups (groups of students) and groupings (categories of groups) for this course. The instructions will open in a different tab or window so you can return to these instructions when you are done creating groups. When you are finished creating the groups and groupings, return to the Course Settings page and select the Default grouping.


  10. Role Renaming: We recommend that you don't rename rolls.



  11. When you are finished with these settings, click the Save changes button at the bottom of the page.